RoGoTaSc


RoGoTaSc stands for Roles, Goals, Tasks, and Schedule.


Introduction

RoGoTaSc is a simple facilitation tool for effective self-management which adds on to leadership qualities and skills on the level of daily and weekly time management, prioritizing, self-definition and goal setting. The term is a composite of the following ingredients:

  • Roles
  • Goals
  • Tasks
  • Schedule

In one word, RoGoTaSc is a planning tool that is based upon your goal setting and in accordance with your values. Let me explain.

Unlike other management or leadership approaches I do not favor daily scheduling. When we schedule daily, we too easily get into a hassle and do over-planning. I mean life is not linear. There are sudden changes of schedule, there are appointments cancelled, and so on. Daily scheduling pushes us too much on the management side and it’s perhaps too poor from the leadership point of view. Hence, leadership planning is weekly. The week is a natural planning unit.

The ideal time for weekly planning is Sunday. If you sit down and do your weekly planning on Sunday afternoon, visualizing your tasks for the new week, you have the emotional distance needed to schedule your tasks in accordance with your vision statement and your goals. Why should we do that? If we forget about our basic leadership tools such as the vision statement, we’ll be in a hassle of priorities. There are certainly important things to do but there are also things on our agenda that are less important.

Often, when we plan on a daily basis we lack the necessary distance from the situation in order to really prioritize successfully; and prioritizing is the essential point of self-management or time-management. So what we do now is first to get clarity what our roles are and then set our goals for our tasks and schedule them on a weekly basis.

Roles and Goals

I understand roles and goals not as separate items on the agenda of leadership, but as intertwined. My goals depend on my roles.

If, for example, I consider to be a parent to be my main role for the coming years, specific goals will flow from this role choice. In the following work task, you are asked to identify 5 different roles you are currently playing in your life, and then assign a few goals to each of them.

Print this article out, then jot this down on the sheet in a few seconds, without thinking much about it, rather intuitively.

My Personal Role 1

My personal goals for Role 1 …

My Personal Role 2

My personal goals for Role 2 …

My Personal Role 3

My personal goals for Role 3…

My Personal Role 4

My personal goals for Role 4…

My Personal Role 5

My personal goals for Role 5…

Now that you have clarity about your goals, you are ready to start with planning or self-management. Enter in every box of your weekly schedule the following data:

  • The day when the task will have to be done;
  • The task to be carried out;
  • The role of your six roles to be assigned to the task;
  • The goal to achieve with carrying out the task;
  • The gross amount of time needed for the task;
  • The importance (priority range) of the task.

Please enter your solution in the appropriate boxes for every day and don’t forget to structure your input along the lines of the six points previously enumerated.

Your Weekly Schedule

Sunday

My Schedule for Sunday …

Monday

My Schedule for Monday …

Tuesday

My Schedule for Tuesday …

Wednesday

My Schedule for Wednesday …

Thursday

My Schedule for Thursday…

Friday

My Schedule for Friday …

Saturday

My Schedule for Saturday …

Real-Life Task

You are asked to take presidency of your local club, church or welfare organization. You are supposed to hold a speech at that occasion. You need to prepare the speech and schedule it in your agenda. The club meeting will be on Thursday evening. Priority ranges are from 1 to 10 (1 being the lowest and 10 the highest priority) How do you schedule? (Please enter the solution in the appropriate boxes for every day and don’t forget to structure your input along the lines of the six points previously enumerated.)

Sunday

My Schedule for Sunday …

Thursday

My Schedule for Thursday…

The Way the Task Will Have to Be Done

Short Description …

The Role to Be Assigned to the Task

Short Description …

The Goal to be Achieved

Short Description …

Gross Amount of Time Needed for the Task

Short Description

Importance and Priority of the Task

Short Description

Find the Answers in my Book

All the answers are published in my book ‘Servant Leadership: A Guide for Aspiring Young Leaders (2015).’

